Volunteers of America hosts SB192 Oversight Committee meeting

President & CEO Jennifer Hancock and Representative Denver "Denny" Butler, SB192 Implementation Oversight Committee Co-Chair

In light of the recent Syringe Exchange Program expansion and growing need for addiction recovery services, Volunteers of America was honored to host the SB192 Implementation Oversight Committee meeting in Louisville on October 23 at our Shelby Street Clinical Campus location. Legislators and panelists discussed solutions and barriers to the heroin crisis in Kentucky. Legislators included Senator Christian McDaniel, Co-Chair; Senator Morgan McGarvey; Senator Whitney Westerfield; Representative Denver Butler, Co-Chair; Representative Joni Jenkins; and Representative David Floyd.

Dr. Sarah Moyer, Interim Director, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness (LMPHW) provided updates on the Louisville Metro Syringe Exchange Program. Panelist discussed addiction recovery services, the criminal justice system and the healthcare system in regards to the heroin epidemic.

Panelists included: Mark Baker, Assistant Commonwealth Attorney, 30th Judicial Circuit – Jefferson County; Rob Sanders, Commonwealth Attorney, 16th Judicial Circuit – Kenton County; Chris Cohron, Commonwealth Attorney, 8th Judicial Circuit – Warren County; Steven Long, Narcotics Officer, Kentucky State Police; Christopher Conners, Director, Northern Kentucky Drug Strike Force; Major Eddie Jones, Commander, Louisville Metro Police Department Narcotics Division; Tommy Loving, Executive Director, Kentucky Narcotics Officers' Association; David Tapp, Circuit Court Judge, 28th Judicial Circuit – Pulaski County; Elizabeth Blevins, Physician Assistant, Florence Medical Group, Florence, Kentucky.